3 min Read

Three Trojans named first team All-Conference

The Pac-12 All-Conference team was named Tuesday morning and three Trojans found themselves on the first team, while quarterback Kedon Slovis was named Freshman Offensive Player of the Year.

USC wide receiver Michael Pittman, offensive tackle Austin Jackson and defensive tackle Jay Tufele were all recognized as first-team Pac-12 performers this season.

Pittman finished the regular season with 95 reeptions for 1,222 yards and 11 touchdowns. He is fourth nationally in receptions per game (7.9) and tenth in receiving yards per game (101.8). Pittman was also named a second-team all purpose player this year. He previously was named to the All-Pac-12 first team as a special teamer in 2017.

Pittman won the 2019 Pop Warner College Football Award and is a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award.

Jackson started every game this season and was the Pac-12 Offensive Lineman of the Week following USC’s big win against Stanford early in the season.

Tufele made the first team this season after taking home second-team honors last year. He finished the regular season with 4.5 sacks among his 38 tackles.

Slovis is the fourth Trojan to earn Pac-12 Offensive Freshman of the Year honors, joining wide receivers Robert Woods and Marqise Lee, and quarterback Sam Darnold.

Slovis has thrown for 3,242 yards and 28 touchdowns on 260 completions this season. The completions and yards are USC freshman records, while three touchdowns against Iowa in the Holiday Bowl would tie Darnold’s USC freshman record for touchdown passes. If he maintains his 71.8% completion rate, which ranks fifth nationally, he will set a USC record in that category. And he has already tied the career record for 400-yard passing games, with four. His 515 passing yards against UCLA set a USC record. Slovis was also named Honorable Mention All-Pac-12.

Other Trojans awarded All-Conference:

Second team: Offensive guard Alijah Vera-Tucker, defensive end Drake Jackso, safety Talanoa Hufanga and return specialist Velus Jones.

Honorable mention: Cornerback Olaijah Griffin, linebacker John Houston Jr., kicker Chase McGrath and wide receivers Amon-Ra St. Brown and Tyler Vaughns.

Utah led the way among Pac-12 programs with eight players selected to the first team — including five defensive players. Utah running back Zack Moss was named Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year and Kyle Whittingham took home Coach of the Year.

Cal linebacker Evan Weaver was the Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year, while Oregon defensive end Kayvon Thibodeaux was named Freshman Defensive Player of the Year.

Erik McKinney

Erik McKinney began writing for WeAreSC in 2004, during his junior year at USC, covering the Trojans football team and recruiting. He then moved on to ESPN.com in 2011, where he served as the West Region recruiting reporter and then the Pac-12 recruiting reporter. He took over as publisher of WeAreSC in January, 2019.

More Articles By Erik