1 min Read

Talanoa Hufanga named 2020 Polynesian College Football Co-Player of the Year

The honors continue to roll in for USC safety Talanoa Hufanga, as he was named the Polynesian College Football Co-Player of the Year on Tuesday. Hufanga shared the award with BYU quarterback Zach Kapono Wilson, as the two were among the national standouts of the 2020 season.

Hufanga led the USC defense with 62 tackles, four interceptions and two forced fumbles in just six games. He recorded those four interceptions in four-consecutive games and finished the regular season with a 17-tackle performance against UCLA.

Hufanga adds this honor to earlier ones he received, including being named the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year as well as a consensus First-Team All-American.

It’s full circle for Hufanga, who also won the inaugural Polynesian High School Player of the Year award in 2018.

USC has a long history of talented Polynesian players, but this is the first Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award given to a Trojan, though the award has only been given since 2014.

Previous winners include Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota, Notre Dame offensive tackle Ronnie Stanley, Colorado quarterback Sefo Liufau, Washington State defensive end Hercules Mata’afa, Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa and Oregon offensive tackle Penei Sewell.

Erik McKinney

Erik McKinney began writing for WeAreSC in 2004, during his junior year at USC, covering the Trojans football team and recruiting. He then moved on to ESPN.com in 2011, where he served as the West Region recruiting reporter and then the Pac-12 recruiting reporter. He took over as publisher of WeAreSC in January, 2019.

More Articles By Erik