4 min Read

USC 2019 Team Awards

USC’s 2019 football team banquet was held Sunday evening and several Trojans were honored for their performances on and off the field.

Senior wide receiver Michael Pittman Jr. was named USC’s Most Valuable Player of the 2019 team at the event, held at the Scholarship Club Tower at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum.

Pittman is a semifinalist for the 2019 Biletnikoff Award and a finalist for the Pop Warner National College Football Award, and won multiple team awards during the event. Pittman is tied for second in the nation with 95 receptions and ranks fourth with 1,222 receiving yards. He finished the season with 100-yard receiving performances in four of the final five games, has caught at least four passes in 17-straight games, and helped lead the upset win against No. 10 Utah earlier this season with 10 receptions for 232 yards and a touchdown.

His 95 receptions this season ties him for fifth with Mike Williams’ 2003 season for most catches in a season in USC history, and even a modest showing in USC’s bowl game will get him into the top 10 for USC single-season receiving yards.

Here is a complete list of the 2019 awards:

Most Valuable Player:  wide receiver Michael Pittman Jr.

Most Inspirational Player:  inside linebacker John Houston Jr.

Trojan Way Leadership Award:  wide receiver Amon-Ra St. Brown

Trojan Commitment Award:  defensive lineman Christian Rector

Linemen of the Year: offensive guard Alijah Vera-Tucker (offense), defensive lineman Jay Tufele (defense) (Tufele repeated as defensive lineman of the year, after winning in 2018 as well).

Perimeter Players of the Year:  wide receiver Tyler Vaughns (offense), safeties Talanoa Hufanga and Isaiah Pola-Mao (defense)

Special Teams Player of the Year:  placekicker Chase McGrath

Service Team Players of the Year: tight ends Sean Mahoney and Scott Voigt (offense) and inside linebackers Matt Bayle and Grant Jones (defense)

Player of the Game vs. UCLA:  quarterback Kedon Slovis

Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award (overall academic achievement):  offensive guard Jacob Daniel

Bob Chandler Award (underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character):  tight end Erik Krommenhoek

John McKay Award (player with the most competitive spirit):  offensive tackle Drew Richmond

Joe Collins Walk-on Award:  tailback Quincy Jountti

Chris Carlisle Courage Award:  offensive tackle Austin Jackson

Jack Oakie “Rise and Shine” Award (player who best embodies the Fight On spirit):  quarterback Matt Fink

Community Service Award:  wide receiver Michael Pittman Jr.

Lifters Award:  wide receiver Michael Pittman Jr., tailback Quincy Jountti

Captains:  inside linebackers John Houston Jr. and Jordan Iosefa, wide receiver Michael Pittman Jr., defensive lineman Christian Rector

Erik McKinney

Erik McKinney began writing for WeAreSC in 2004, during his junior year at USC, covering the Trojans football team and recruiting. He then moved on to ESPN.com in 2011, where he served as the West Region recruiting reporter and then the Pac-12 recruiting reporter. He took over as publisher of WeAreSC in January, 2019.

More Articles By Erik