Ten forgotten Trojan stars (from Rich Ruben)

Discussion in 'USC Hoops' started by ErikMcKinney, Jul 16, 2020.

2. Moose4usc

Moose4usc Junior Member

Jul 16, 2020
    I used to play pick-up games when I was a student with Harold Miner, Lorenzo Orr, and Robert Pack--but you missed a big one from that group--DUANE COOPER!!

He was the nicest guy, so humble, quiet and unassuming. He ended up playing for the Lakers for a couple years. I will never forget when he had a great game and Chick Hearn called him "instant offense" or something like that.

Duane is probably my all-time favorite hoopster, just ahead of Harold.

Canyon likes this.
  3. Rodgarnay51

Rodgarnay51 Junior Member

Jul 16, 2020
    This is great Rich! Thanks very much. Boy you called it on Ronnie Coleman - I barely remember him at all, yet he accomplished a lot. All of these guys had fine careers. My favorite on the list was Cliff Robinson - I loved his game and thought he was a great player.

I don't think we have to worry about Rakocevic ending up on this list. I won't soon forget his maddening inconsistency. One guy who I hope never makes it to this list is Jordan McLaughlin. He was such a great player for the Trojans - probably my favorite.

Canyon likes this.
  4. Rich Ruben

Rich Ruben Member

Jul 16, 2020

SC had several good guards at that time. Besides Miner, Pack and Cooper, Phil Glenn and Rodney Chatman were productive players.

5. Alta Loma Trojan

Alta Loma Trojan Junior Member

Jul 16, 2020
    I walk down memory lane. My SC grad Dad first took me to games in the 1960's. Mostly heart break but when we beat the Ruins it was special.

6. Moose4usc

Moose4usc Junior Member

Jul 17, 2020
    Phil was part of some of those pickup games too! Another great guy. I was able to interview him after the USC-Pepperdine NIT game and he was quite patient with my amateurish skills. :-)

7. gkierkegaard

gkierkegaard Junior Member

Jul 19, 2020