Super OT: But considering moving back to California.

Discussion in 'GarryP's Trojan Huddle' started by TrojanCampaign, May 15, 2019.

1. Super OT: But considering moving back to California.
    TrojanCampaign

TrojanCampaign Junior Member

May 15, 2019
    Little backstory: My dad went to SC (how I became a fan) but was born in Alabama and moved with my mom to the Bay area soon after graduation/marriage. And we moved to Alabama when was a teenager. My wife went to medical school up north and moved to Alabama (for me) after she graduated and did residency. And choose to do a fellowship in Emergency Medicine but there unfortunately are not many places that aren't rural that take a family trained Emergency Physician even with a fellowship. So she has been looking and the LA area surprisingly is one the few big cities that has a demand for ER physicians w/wo a ER residency. I work in the tech industry and will be doing a PhD during said move. I lived outside SF and I have never been to LA for more than 3-7 days at a time. I'll be coming for the Rose Bowl this year even if USC is not playing for vacation/recon.

So I have a few questions since we are all bored in the off-season.

- What is LA like compared to the SF culturally?
    - Is it feasible to live outside of LA and work in LA? Like around Riverside?
    - Never been to the beach in SoCal, is the water freezing like San Francisco?
    - Stalking Zillow I'm getting the impression that a 4-5 bedroom with 3000 sqft is going to be around 1.3 million+. Is there anywhere close that is not so expensive? ( =( here that is like $370,000 )
    - Any advice you would give to a potential transplant?

2. uscfd

uscfd Junior Member

May 15, 2019
    I'll take a shot. I've lived in southern Calif all my life - 64 years.

LA vs SF - two completely different cities for topography, culture, weather...
    Work in LA and live in Riverside? Not unless you want to spend over 3 hours a day commuting.