Evaluating Parents

Discussion in 'GarryP's Trojan Huddle' started by TaeRiddle, Feb 12, 2016.

1. Evaluating Parents
    TaeRiddle

TaeRiddle Junior Member

Feb 12, 2016
    I thought this was a fairly decent read, and as a coach myself on the HS & youth level I can certainly relate to a lot of what he is saying. With the changing landscape of things and with the influence of parents so strong I think eventually you might even see some type of strict recruiting rules involving the parent. While I agree that they definitely need to be there, some of these parents are over the top.

[FONT=&quot]http://coachingsearch.com/article?a=Pat-Fitzgerald-Evaluating-parents-has-become-a-big-part-of-the-process#.VrvGBHHnA16.facebook[/FONT]

2. wyotrojans

wyotrojans Junior Member

Feb 12, 2016
    Being a good parent is tough. It's a balance between teaching your kids to make good decisions and then letting your kids make those decisions so they can learn for themselves.

Some of these parents have their own best interest at heart and it's sad.

3. 3rd Slide

3rd Slide Junior Member

Feb 12, 2016
    He's right about the flip side too, when the parents are good, it helps the chemistry and creates an extended family for all.

4. GoSC1

GoSC1 Junior Member

Feb 12, 2016
    As an educator I can attest as to how important parent buy in helps a program. I have 100% buy in this year and I am taking this class farther than i ever cud if they were fighting me. I have witnessed an overzealous parent harm a childs esteem at many a conference. There are times i step in to protect the kid from the parent, it is sad

5. old scotty

old scotty Junior Member

Feb 12, 2016
    I used the same standard for years as a Little League coach....never draft a kid....no matter how well he can play...if his parents are trouble.