50-60 Million Loss....

Discussion in 'GarryP's Trojan Huddle' started by STRECKERmemo, Aug 13, 2020.

2. SC87

SC87 Points Member

Aug 13, 2020
    Hard to shed any salty tears for the greedy and corrupt members of academia. Let them eat cake or maybe work more than two hours per week. So sad.

3. AnArchitect

AnArchitect Points Member

Aug 13, 2020
    You mean the administrators, right?

I'm a professor and I've never put in a week less than 60 hours - including this summer where I was not even teaching but was doing my research and developing new classes - all unpaid. When classes are in session, I work 7 days a week.

Also, lots of fine folks are staff at these institutions. They're just honest, hard working wage workers. What'd they ever do to you?

TrojanEddie, Tod78, Troy70 and 5 others like this.
  4. CFB Fan

CFB Fan Junior Member

Aug 14, 2020
    I went and looked up Utah's athletic budget:

https://utahutes.com/documents/2020/1/21//FY19_NCAA_Revenue_Expense_Report.pdf?id=23039

I think the quote of $50-$60MM loss reflects just the revenue side. It does not reflect the avoided expenses of not having a football season. Assuming no lay-offs, I tallied at least $11-$12MM in avoided expenses. Interestingly, athletic scholarships total $12MM department wide, while coaching salaries totaled over $19MM.

5. Trojack

Trojack Junior Member

Aug 14, 2020
    I can vouch for that. Even as a lowly adjunct for many years, I know I earned my keep. In fact, when you take into account commuting and actually designing the class and then keeping the information current, I lost money on the deal compared to my regular job.

AnArchitect likes this.
  6. SC87

SC87 Points Member

Aug 14, 2020