4 min Read

All-Time WeAreSC Trojan Team: Kickers selected

The all-time USC Trojan kicker and punter have been selected, and while there was a heated battle among several kickers, the punter position featured the most dominating win of any poll.

Your placekicker is Frank Jordan, who beat out David Buehler, Mario Danelo, Ron Ayala, and Andre Heidari, who all received at least 135 votes in the poll. Voters went for clutch over consistency in selecting Jordan, who kicked for just two seasons with the Trojans and ranks just tenth all-time in made field goals for USC.

But he’s the only kicker in USC history with more than one game-winning field goal in the final minute of regulation or in overtime. In 1977, Jordan kicked a 38-yard field goal with two seconds remaining to beat UCLA 29-27. The following season, against Notre Dame, Jordan knocked in a 37-yard kick with two seconds left to beat the Irish 27-25. That snapped an eight-game winning streak for No. 8 Notre Dame, and helped the No. 3 Trojans on their way to a national championship that season. Jordan connected on just 55 percent of his field goal attempts during that 1978 season, but those two massive kicks in back-to-back seasons against the rivals cemented his name in the USC history books.

As for punter, Tom Malone was the only choice. He is USC’s only All-American punter, earning a spot on the 2003 team. Malone set the USC record for punting average in a season that year, averaging 49 yards per punt. He fell five punts short of qualifying for the national lead in that category. Of his 185 career punts, 56 traveled at least 50 yards and 95 pinned opponents within the 20-yard line. His career average of 44 yards per punt falls just a tenth of a yard shy of USC’s all-time best.

WeAreSC All-Time Team


Quarterback: Matt Leinart

Running backs: Marcus Allen, Reggie Bush

Fullback: Sam Cunningham

Wide receivers: Keyshawn Johnson, Mike Williams

Tight end: Charles Young

Offensive line: Anthony Munoz, Brad Budde, Ryan Kalil, Bruce Matthews, Tony Boselli


Defensive line: Leonard Williams, Mike Patterson, Shaun Cody, Willie McGinest

Linebackers: Junior Seau, Chris Claiborne, Richard Wood

Cornerbacks: Joey Browner, Adoree’ Jackson

Safeties: Ronnie Lott, Troy Polamalu

Special Teams

Kicker: Frank Jordan

Punter: Tom Malone

Erik McKinney

Erik McKinney began writing for WeAreSC in 2004, during his junior year at USC, covering the Trojans football team and recruiting. He then moved on to ESPN.com in 2011, where he served as the West Region recruiting reporter and then the Pac-12 recruiting reporter. He took over as publisher of WeAreSC in January, 2019.

More Articles By Erik