2 min Read

2017 USC Team Awards


LOS ANGELES–USC sophomore quarterback Sam Darnold and senior outside linebacker Uchenna Nwosu shared the Most Valuable Player Award of the Cotton Bowl-bound 2017 Trojan football team at the annual awards banquet Wednesday (Dec. 13) at USC’s Tutor Campus Center Ballroom.

USC junior snapper Jake Olson, who captivated the college football world when he snapped in 2 games this season despite being blind, was named the Most Inspirational Player.

Darnold, who has thrown for 3,787 yards and 26 touchdowns in 2017, and Nwosu, who has 71 tackles and 13 deflections this season, also shared USC’s Lifter of the Year Award with senior center Nico Falah, junior offensive tackle Toa Lobendahn, junior inside linebacker Cameron Smith and junior safety Marvell Tell III.

Smith, who has a team-best 102 tackles this season, was the Defensive Perimeter Player of the Year, while junior tailback Ronald Jones II, who has run for 1,486 yards with 18 TDs in 2017, was the Offensive Perimeter Player of the Year. Junior offensive guard Chris Brown was USC’s Offensive Lineman of the Year, while junior defensive lineman Rasheem Green was Defensive Lineman of the Year. Soph wide receiver Michael Pittman Jr. and senior safety Matt Lopes shared Special Teams Player of the Year.

A complete list of the 2017 awards:

Most Valuable Player: quarterback Sam Darnold, outside linebacker Uchenna Nwosu

Most Inspirational Player: snapper Jake Olson

Trojan Way Leadership Award: safety Chris Hawkins

Trojan Commitment Award: center Nico Falah, offensive guard Viane Talamaivao

Linemen of the Year: offensive guard Chris Brown (offense), defensive lineman Rasheem Green (defense)

Perimeter Players of the Year: tailback Ronald Jones II (offense), inside linebacker Cameron Smith (defense)

Special Teams Player of the Year: safety Matt Lopes, wide receiver Michael Pittman Jr.

Service Team Players of the Year: center Richie Wenzel (offense), defensive linemen Jacob Lichtenstein and Jay Tufele (defense)

Player of the Game Vs. UCLA: safety Chris Hawkins

Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award (overall academic achievement): cornerback Yoofi Quansah

Bob Chandler Award (underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character): wide receiver Deontay Burnett

John McKay Award (player with the most competitive spirit): defensive tackle Josh Fatu

Joe Collins Walk-on Award: punter Reid Budrovich, placekicker Chase McGrath

Chris Carlisle Courage Award: offensive tackle Toa Lobendahn, wide receiver Steven Mitchell Jr.

Community Service Award: offensive guard Jordan Austin

Lifters Award: quarterback Sam Darnold, center Nico Falah, offensive tackle Toa Lobendahn (offense), outside linebacker Uchenna Nwosu, inside linebacker Cameron Smith, safety Marvell Tell III (defense)

Captains: quarterback Sam Darnold, safety Chris Hawkins, outside linebacker Uchenna Nwosu, inside linebacker Cameron Smith