3 min Read

2015 USC Trojan team awards

LOS ANGELES–USC sophomore cornerback-wide receiver-returner Adoree’ Jackson was named the Most Valuable Player of the 2015 Pac-12 South Division champion and Holiday Bowl-bound Trojan football team at the annual awards banquet Sunday (Dec. 13) at USC’s Tutor Campus Center Ballroom.
Jackson, an All-Pac-12 first teamer in 2015 and a finalist for the Hornung Award as the nation’s most versatile player, had 31 tackles and an interception for a TD on defense, 24 receptions with 2 touchdowns on offense and 23 punt returns for a 10.9 average with 2 TDs and 29 kickoff returns for a 22.9 average on special teams.

Senior center Max Tuerk, who suffered a season-ending knee injury in the middle of the 2015 season, was named USC’s Most Inspirational Player. Junior offensive tackle Zach Banner was USC’s Offensive Lineman of the Year, senior defensive tackles Antwaun Woods and Delvon Simmons were the Defensive Linemen of the Year, sophomore wide receiver JuJu Smith-Schuster was the Offensive Perimeter Player of the Year, junior outside linebacker Su’a Cravens repeated as the Defensive Perimeter Player of the Year and senior fullback Soma Vainuku was the Special Teams Player of the Year. Senior quarterback Cody Kessler won the Trojan Way Leadership Award for the second consecutive year.

A complete list of the 2015 awards:

Most Valuable Player: cornerback-wide receiver-returner Adoree’ Jackson
Most Inspirational Player: center Max Tuerk
Trojan Way Leadership Award: quarterback Cody Kessler
Trojan Commitment Award: tailback Tre Madden, fullback Jahleel Pinner
Linemen of the Year: offensive tackle Zach Banner (offense), defensive tackle Antwaun Woods, defensive tackle Delvon Simmons (defense)
Perimeter Players of the Year: wide receiver JuJu Smith-Schuster (offense), outside linebacker Su’a Cravens (defense)
Special Teams Player of the Year: fullback Soma Vainuku
Service Team Players of the Year: quarterback Sam Darnold (offense), outside linebacker Don Hill, inside linebacker Joel Foy (defense)
Jack Oakie “Rise and Shine” Award (year’s longest run): tailback Ronald Jones II (74 yards vs. Arizona)
Player of the Game Vs. UCLA: tailback Justin Davis
Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award (overall academic achievement): wide receiver Robby Kolanz
Bob Chandler Award (underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character): quarterback Max Browne
John McKay Award (underclassman with the most competitive spirit): inside linebacker Cameron Smith
Joe Collins Walk-on Award: inside linebacker Reuben Peters
Chris Carlisle Courage Award: inside linebacker Lamar Dawson
Community Service Award: safety John Plattenburg
Lifters Award: fullback Soma Vainuku, tailback Tre Madden (offense), defensive tackle Cody Temple, outside linebacker Don Hill, defensive tackle Antwaun Woods(defense)
Captains: quarterback Cody Kessler, center Max Tuerk, outside linebacker Su’a Cravens, defensive tackle Antwaun Woods, inside linebacker Anthony Sarao

Garry Paskwietz

A 1988 graduate of USC with a degree in Sports Information. Worked in sports marketing for LA Lakers and Miller Brewing Company. Began covering the Trojans in 1996 with the Trojan Football Fax. Founded WeAreSC in November 1998 with stints at Scout and ESPN. Emmy-winner while covering high school football at Fox Sports West.

More Articles By Garry